PSU Coach James Franklin to speak at 5th annual Mr. Pa Football Awards


(Harrisburg, PA)-Sports announces that Penn State University Football Head Coach James Franklin will be the keynote speaker at the fifth annual Mr. Pennsylvania high school football awards on Saturday, February 21, 2015 at 5:30pm at the Radisson Hotel and Convention Center. Tickets are available at

Previous Keynote Speakers include PSU Coach Bill O’Brien (2013) and University of Maryland Coach Randy Edsall (2014).

Coach Franklin continues to rejuvenate the football program after suffering through the devastating NCAA sanctions and has the team heading in the right direction toward a promising future. The intensity and passion displayed on the field and on the recruiting trail has been very impressive. Under his leadership the team has been very resilient and competitive thus far.

Coach Franklin will be presenting the awards to the two winners: one for the Small School Mr. Pennsylvania, (Class A and AA players), and one for the Big School Mr. Pennsylvania, (Class AAA and AAAA players). The five finalists in each class will be present and winners announced that night.

The players from across Pennsylvania are nominated and chosen by football fans, sportswriters/sportscasters, and coaches. The fans, the media, and the coaches each represent 1/3 of the vote. More details of the process are available at Voting each year exceeds more than 50,000 total votes.


Past Mr. PA Football winners are:


2010 Rushel Shell – Hopewell High School & West Virginia University

2011* Rushel Shell – Hopewell High School & West Virginia University

2011* Noah Spence – Bishop McDevitt High School & Ohio State University

2012 Robert Foster – Central Valley High School & University of Alabama

2013 Andrew Ford-Cedar Cliff High School & Virginia Tech University


2010 Desimon Green – Clairton High School & Texas Tech University/ California (Pa.) University

2011 Tyler Boyd – Clairton High School & University of Pittsburgh

2012 Tyler Boyd – Clairton High School & University of Pittsburgh

2013 DeAndre Scott-Imhotep Charter High School & Arizona State University

In addition, our Legendary Coach Awards recognizes PA High School Coaches that have contributed to the outstanding traditions of Pennsylvania Football.

2011 George Chaump of Central Dauphin, Central Dauphin East, and Harrisburg High Schools

2012 Tim Rimpfel of Cumberland Valley, Bishop McDevitt and Trinity High Schools

2013 George Curry of Berwick and Wyoming Valley West High Schools

The public is encouraged to nominate their favorite player(s) at

Nominations are now open until December 10th. Voting deadlines are: Jan. 01 – Tremendous Twenty, Jan. 15 – Top Ten, Feb. 01 – Final Five and Feb. 15 – Winners

A portion of the proceeds will benefit Vickie’s Angel Walk (headed by Mickey Minnich).